Having reintroduced himself via the exquisitely soulful ‘Map Of The Moon’, the video of which can be viewed HERE, Daniel Woolhouse has today announced the release of his new album What’s That Sound?, which will be available 28th October via 37 Adventures. Daniel has also unveiled the album's addictively upbeat title track which is streaming HERE.

What’s That Sound? is another landmark in the musical saga of this most compelling of artists, and the first album to be released under his own name after two via his playful alias Deptford Goth. The new record is a more fleshed-out, hook-laden and euphoric collection than 2014’s Songs and 2013’s Life After Defo, while still retaining the irresistibly yearning, slow-burning and soulful intimacy that sets him apart.

Produced, and mostly self-performed, by Woolhouse at his studio at home on the Kent coast, What’s That Sound? instantly reveals his new maturity, from the gospel-slanted opener ‘Crazy Water’ (with backing vocals from Slow Club’s Rebecca Lucy Taylor) to the title track’s gliding verse and joyous chorus. It’s a long way from the sombre, skeletal template of his Life After Defo debut, as even the ballads, such as ‘Dreamt I Was A Ceramicist Too’ and ‘Forest Further’, and the album’s lead single ‘Map Of The Moon’, have expanded warmth.

Throughout, Woolhouse carefully balances, and seamlessly weaves, digital and organic ingredients, from shifting beats and synthetic keys to rippling pianos, the occasional electric guitar and Spencer Martin’s saxophone, topped by Woolhouse’s achingly expressive voice.

Woolhouse’s choice of What’s That Sound? for the album title unites the record’s musical and lyrical themes. “It was a good way to title this collection of songs because of how I paid attention to the instrumentation,” he says. “It also describes the head chatter that can be quite infringing when concentrating and honing in on what I want or am thinking. I think it's a good summary of looking for sense out of confusion.”

What’s That Sound? is Woolhouse at his most vulnerable and honest, and an artist at the peak of his songwriting powers. Album artwork, tracklisting and new photo below:

What’s That Sound? tracklisting:
1. Crazy Water
2. What's That Sound?
3. Dreamt I Was A Ceramicist Too
4. Map Of The Moon
5. Graffiti
6. Skeleton
7. Oh These Landscapes
8. Tomorrow's Egg
9. Hum
10. Soup For Brains
11. Forest Further