Oklahoma quintet Horse Thief have announced the release of their second album, Trials And Truths, on 27th January via Bella Union and available to pre-order via iTunes. The band have also shared the LP’s first single, “Another Youth” and announced a January tour to coincide with release.

Trials And Truths follows “Fear In Bliss”, the band’s highly acclaimed Bella Union album debut. Clash Music noted its “punchy riffs and sunshine melodies, lovely harmonies and production,” while The Line Of Best Fit said, “twinkling guitars and keys sashay around Neal’s tender voice, creating a warm, melodic bath of sound. It’s a thing of beauty.”

For Trials And Truths, Horse Thief reunited with producer Thom Monahan (Devendra Banhart, Vetiver). Frontman Cameron Neal notes, “We had more time to dwell on these songs, as the first record was written and recorded really quickly. We’d toured Fear In Bliss for eighteen months, which really helped us get to know each other’s styles, and where to take the new songs. It means this album is closer to the sound that we want.”

Influenced by their life on the road, love, relationships and home, Neal adds: “The title Trials And Truths is about us: we’re still a young band, figuring out how to make things work and to have a purpose, so we can get through any hard times. But the band is very much together—it feels like a brotherhood, we’re all in it for the same reason.”

Horse Thief was originally founded in Denton, TX by Neal. He joined forces with Cody Fowler (bass), Alberto Roubert (drums, percussion), Zach Zeller (organ, keys, guitar) and Alex Coleman (guitar, keys) while studying at Oklahoma’s Academy of Contemporary Music. The band was then introduced to Bella Union through their friends, The Flaming Lips, and released their debut album shortly after.

Trials And Truths will be released 27th January on Bella Union.

Trials And Truths tracklisting:

1. Another Youth
2. Difference
3. Drowsy
4. Empire
5. Falling For You
6. Evil’s Rising
7. Little One
8. Mountain Town
9. Million Dollars
10. Santa Fe