Today, Margaret Glaspy announces the release of her debut album 'Emotions And Math,' out 6/17 via ATO Records. Recorded at Sear Sound in New York City and mixed by Shawn Everett (Alabama Shakes, Lucius, Weezer), 'Emotions And Math' sees Glaspy tackling topics of insecurity, love lost and found, and life on the road with clarity, honesty and a cutting sense of humor, all backed by gritty, fiercely performed electric guitar. The title track premiered via NPR All Songs Considered today. Robin Hilton gave Margaret "four stars," and Bob Boilen called her a "great'll like this, a lot." Listen here:

Glaspy has earned early praise from The New York Times, Stereogum and NME. Rolling Stone hailed her “hot barbs of electric guitar,” and VICE Noisey love her “complex, deceptively heavy riffs with vocals that really stand out and grab you at the throat.”

“In a lot of ways, it’s kind of howI operate,” says Glaspy of the album title. “I’ve always considered myself a free spirit, someone who goes with the flow, but actually I’m not exactly like that. This record really taught me that I’m super analytical and process-driven. I think they really do go together, emotions and math. Nobody is just one thing.”

Margaret Glaspy is about to embark on an extensive spring tour with stints opening for for Lucius, Mount Moriah and The Milk Carton Kids. She’ll also play a hometown album release show at Brooklyn’s Baby’s All Right on June 18. Full list of dates below.


1. Emotions And Math
2. Situation
3. You and I
4. Somebody To Anybody
5. No Matter Who
6. Memory Street
7. Pins And Needles
8. Anthony
9. Parental Guidance
10. You Don’t Want Me
11. Love Like This
12. Black Is Blue